Perhaps we all have that special someone in our list of contacts who’s deep into the stalking business. Letting him know when’s the last time we opened WhatsApp can become a little uncomfortable, and Meta has thought about this aspect pretty seriously.
According to MacRumors, WhatsApp has a new feature rolling out that gives users the possibility to decide who can see their ‘Last Seen’ status.
Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg himself made it clear a few hours ago in a Facebook post:
“New privacy features coming to WhatsApp: exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages.”
Until the update arrives, you can still hide your ‘Last Seen’ status from your entire list of contacts if you want to. You can also choose to show it to your contacts only, meaning that people who aren’t on your list won’t be able to see when’s the last time when you used WhatsApp.
Also, it would be absurd to believe that Meta will stop anytime soon when it comes to updating WhatsApp. The tech giant always finds ways to improve the famous instant-messaging app. Just in case you needed more confirmation, here’s what else Mark Zuckerberg says in the same Facebook post:
“We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”
It’s great to find out that along with the possibility of hiding your ‘Last Seen’ status on WhatsApp, the famous instant-messaging app is also rolling out the option of leaving group chats without having everybody notified. Many people were annoyed by having to let everyone notice their decision to leave a group.
The best option now, if you’re one of the numerous WhatsApp users waiting for the new update, is to keep your phone connected to your WiFi.